Six Sigma

Six Sigma

Brook specialist trainers provide specialist Six Sigma training and consulting for businesses that wish to maximise their full potential, identify new opportunities, and improve their operations.

Our team of Lean and Six Sigma experts have industry experience and knowledge to help your organisation improve quality and production standards to meet the ever-changing demands of your clients.

Brook are expert trainers, committed to helping you understand how the Six Sigma methodology can transform your operations.

Read our blog article why you should look to gain Lean Six Sigma certification, HERE
lean six sigma

The Power of Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a powerful methodology and set of tools that focuses on improving processes by reducing variation and defects. 

The “Power of Six Sigma” refers to its ability to drive transformative change and performance improvements across an organisation.

Six Sigma provides a structured, data-driven approach to identifying and quantifying performance gaps, analysing root causes, and implementing solutions to optimise processes and products. 

It emphasises the power of people, process, and statistical analysis to achieve breakthrough results.

By leveraging Six Sigma techniques like DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyse, Improve, Control), organisations can systematically enhance quality, increase efficiency, reduce costs, and ultimately deliver greater value to customers. 

The power of Six Sigma lies in its rigorous problem-solving framework, which promotes a culture of continuous improvement and empowers employees to make data-backed decisions for sustainable change.

Its widespread adoption across industries is a testament to the transformative power of Six Sigma in driving operational excellence and business success.

The Five Principles of Lean Six Sigma


The five core principles of Six Sigma are all about creating a culture of continuous improvement and eliminating defects in processes. Here’s a breakdown of each principle:

1. Focus on the Customer: This principle emphasises that all improvements should be driven by meeting customer needs and expectations.

2. Measure and Analyse Everything: Six Sigma relies heavily on data and statistical analysis to understand processes, identify variations, and pinpoint root causes of problems.

3. Eliminate Variation and Waste: The core idea is to minimise any variations in a process that can lead to defects or inefficiencies. This involves streamlining processes and removing unnecessary steps that don’t add value.

4. Promote Teamwork and Communication: Effective Six Sigma implementation requires collaboration across teams. Clear communication is essential for everyone to understand goals, roles, and data.

5. Embrace Continuous Improvement: Six Sigma is not a one-time fix. It’s a philosophy that encourages ongoing process evaluation, improvement, and adaptation based on data and feedback.

Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt

The Lean Yellow Belt is the starter level qualification for Lean Six Sigma. This certification is tailored to individuals who want to increase their knowledge and understanding of Lean Six Sigma and seek to develop business performance.

These applicants are usually employed in small, entry level roles and seek to improve their work rates and skills so that they can contribute to business success.

Six Sigma Belts do not have to be achieved in order, at any point an applicant can choose to train for a yellow, green, black or master black belt, where it corresponds with their role or plans for progression.

A Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt can even be suitable for executive members looking to enhance their understanding of Six Sigma and improve their skills.

Lean Six Sigma Green Belt

Lean Six Sigma is a historically-proven methodology that aims to drive business profit through inspiring collaborative team effort and reducing waste. The tem ‘waste’ is used to represent elements that are outside of business necessities, for example practises and expenditures that can be deemed as over-processing, overproduction, defects and inventory.

There are four levels of Six Sigma belt classification – yellow, green, black and master black. The Six Sigma Green Belt is created for professionals who lead business improvement projects and already have a sound understanding of the core and advanced factors of Lean Six Sigma. This individual is likely to be under the leadership of a certified Black Belt.

During your training for the Six Sigma Green Belt Certification, you will be pushed towards achieving certified project manager status. Our Six Sigma trainers will provide you with all the information and tools you need to enhance your teamwork, leadership and management skills.

Once you’ve completed your Green Belt training, you will possess excellent team leadership skills and develop a firm understanding of all aspects of the Six Sigma methodology.

Are you ready to take your business to the next level?